Visas & Immigration

The visa requirements to come into Colombia as a tourist is easy and straight forward; you can enter Colombia visa-free for most countries including Australia, Canada, France, Germany, United Kingdom, and United States. Upon arrival at the airport, you will be provided with the 90 Day Tourist Visa stamp.
For those countries that require a visa before entering into Colombia; will need to apply for the visa through Colombia Cancilleria website, to find out if your country requires a visa check here. We would recommend that you contact a lawyer to help you through the visa process as everything is in Spanish, and the process can get complicated.

Extending Your Tourist Visa in Colombia

If you’re currently visiting Colombia on a 90 Day Tourist Visa and want to extend your stay, you will need to request an extension by going to Colombia Immigration Website and apply. Note: The form is Spanish Only. Although; the form is online, we recommend you get a lawyer that specializes in Visas & Immigration to help you through the process.

Staying Longer in Colombia

There are a plenty of options you can choose from that will allow you to stay longer, some examples: work visa, participate in volunteer work, or for studies, etc.. just to name a few. Below is the break down on type of Visas you can apply for and their categories.

Classes & Categories of Colombia Visas ​

Visitor / Tourist Visa (Type V): Allows the foreigner to temporarily stay in Colombia during a specific amount of time typically 90 Days to a Maximum of 180 Days of the Calendar year. The Type V tourist visa allows the foreigner to travel around Colombia freely, participate in events, medical procedure, work as a digital nomad / or freelance work, and so force..

Migrant Visa (Type M): Migrant Visa is the most popular visa and provides the foreigner up to 3yrs (depending on approval of the visa). The visa allows the foreigner to get a Colombia Cedula (Identification) and start their process of being an expatriate in Colombia. Following the Categories of the Migrant Visa

Resident Visa (Type R): Highest level Visa. This visa renews every 5yrs and you don’t need to worry about re-applying for Type M or Tourist Visa. You can obtain this visa by the following categories:

Want Weekly Information? Subscribe Today

Enter your email below to subscribe to weekly emails about entertainment, events and other related news for expats and tourism in Medellin.

Subscription 02

© 2023 All rights reserved

Managed by Hiro Marketing Group